ACD Working Group on Diversity


The Advisory Committee to the Director (ACD) Working Group on Diversity (WGD) was formed in 2013 in response to the ACD Working Group on Diversity in the Biomedical Research Workforce (WGDBRW) recommendations. The WGD is a permanent working group of the ACD.


The WGD has been charged with assisting the ACD to develop effective diversity-related strategies for NIH. In turn, the ACD advises the NIH Director on these strategies, which include:

  1. Enhancing access and opportunities for all members of the biomedical research workforce, including researchers and support staff, in order to foster a diverse community
  2. Informing policy and procedural changes needed to address disparities in research, training, and professional development awards
  3. Identifying strategies to address underfunding of health disparities and minority health research
  4. Enriching the educational, mentoring, and scientific experience of individuals in the biomedical research training pipeline
  5. Promoting personal and professional growth for biomedical researchers from diverse backgrounds, including those underrepresented nationally in biomedical research
  6. Advancing programs that enhance the recruitment and retention of individuals from diverse backgrounds, including those underrepresented nationally in the biomedical research workforce, and programs that prepare them as scientific and administrative leaders
  7. Fostering mutual respect and valuing of differences, as well as cross-cultural understanding and the realization of the value of diversity in science
  8. Informing policy and procedural changes needed to enhance personal and institutional accountability for upholding diversity, equity, and inclusion as core values that influence behavior and decision making

Subgroups and Related Working Groups

Related Resources


  • Stanley Andrisse, Ph.D., M.B.A.
    Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Howard University College of Medicine
    Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatric Endocrinology, Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean for Student Success and Instructional Innovation
    Professor of Neurobiology
    The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Steven Barnett, M.D.
    Director, National Center for Deaf Health Research
    Program Director, Rochester Bridges to the Doctorate
    Professor, Departments of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences, University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
  • Sherilynn J. Black, Ph.D.
    Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
    Assistant Professor of the Practice of Medical Education
    Duke University
  • Markus Brauer, Ph.D.
    Professor, Department of Psychology and Wisconsin School of Business
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Healani K. Chang, Dr.PH. 
    Research Associate Specialist, Pacific Biosciences Research Center
    Affiliate Faculty, Center for Teaching Excellence, Office of Faculty Development and Academic Support, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Jon Freeman, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Psychology and Neural Science
    New York University
  • George C. Hill, Ph.D.
    Former Vice Chancellor and Chief Diversity Officer for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
    Levi Watkins, Jr. Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Medical Education
    Professor Emeritus, Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology
    Vanderbilt University
  • Hilda Hutcherson, M.D., M.S.
    Senior Associate Dean,
    Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
    Columbia University, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons
  • Calvin Lai, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences Washington University in St. Louis
  • Rae Nishi, Ph.D.
    Independent Senior Research and Education Scholar
    Falmouth, MA
  • Florastina Payton-Stewart, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
    Faculty Administrative Fellow for Diversity & Inclusion, Office of Academic Affairs, Xavier University of Louisiana
    Adjunct Professor, Pharmacology Department, Tulane University School of Medicine
  • Iris L. Romero, M.D.
    Dean for Diversity and Inclusion
    Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    The University of Chicago Medicine
  • Nelson Sanchez, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, Weill Cornell Medicine
    Urgent Care Physician, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Robert M. Sellers, Ph.D.
    Vice Provost for Equity & Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer
    Charles D. Moody Collegiate Professor of Psychology
    University of Michigan
  • Siobhan Wescott, M.D., M.P.H.
    Assistant Professor
    Assistant Director, Indians into Medicine
    University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences
  • Talithia Williams, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Mathematics
    Associate Dean for Research and Experiential Learning
    Harvey Mudd College


  • Nicole Lang
    Health Program Specialist,
    Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity (COSWD) Office,
    Office of the Director
    National Institutes of Health


  • Marie A. Bernard, M.D.
    Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity,
    Office of the Director
    National Institutes of Health
  • M. Roy Wilson, M.D.
    Wayne State University


  • Ericka Boone, Ph.D.
    Acting Director, Division of Biomedical Research Workforce,
    Office of Extramural Research
    National Institutes of Health
  • Noni Byrnes, Ph.D.
    Director, Center for Scientific Review
    National Institutes of Health
  • Alison Gammie, Ph.D.
    Director, Division of Training, Workforce Development and Diversity, National Institute of General Medical Sciences
    National Institutes of Health
  • Karen L. Parker, Ph.D., MSW
    Director, Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office, Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives
    National Institutes of Health
  • William T. Riley, Ph.D.
    Associate Director for Behavioral and Social Sciences
    Director, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
    National Institutes of Health

This page last reviewed on April 20, 2020