ACD Working Group on Diversity


The Advisory Committee to the Director (ACD) Working Group on Diversity (WGD) was formed in 2013 in response to the ACD Working Group on Diversity in the Biomedical Research Workforce (WGDBRW) recommendations. The WGD is a permanent working group of the ACD.


The WGD has been charged with assisting the ACD to develop effective diversity-related strategies for NIH. In turn, the ACD advises the NIH Director on these strategies, which include:

  1. Enhancing access and opportunities for all members of the biomedical research workforce, including researchers and support staff, in order to foster a diverse community
  2. Informing policy and procedural changes needed to address disparities in research, training, and professional development awards
  3. Identifying strategies to address underfunding of health disparities and minority health research
  4. Enriching the educational, mentoring, and scientific experience of individuals in the biomedical research training pipeline
  5. Promoting personal and professional growth for biomedical researchers from diverse backgrounds, including those underrepresented nationally in biomedical research
  6. Advancing programs that enhance the recruitment and retention of individuals from diverse backgrounds, including those underrepresented nationally in the biomedical research workforce, and programs that prepare them as scientific and administrative leaders
  7. Fostering mutual respect and valuing of differences, as well as cross-cultural understanding and the realization of the value of diversity in science
  8. Informing policy and procedural changes needed to enhance personal and institutional accountability for upholding diversity, equity, and inclusion as core values that influence behavior and decision making

Subgroups and Related Working Groups

Related Resources



  • Renato J. Aguilera, Ph.D.
    Biological Sciences Professor and Graduate Program Director
    Director of the Research Infrastructure Core of the Border Biomedical Research Center
    Director of the Research Initiative for Scientific Enhancement U-RISE and G-RISE Programs
    Department of Biological Sciences
    The University of Texas at El Paso
  • Markus Brauer, Ph.D.
    Professor, Department of Psychology and Wisconsin School of Business
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Mona N. Fouad, M.D., M.P.H.
    Associate Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
    Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Heersink School of Medicine
    Professor, Division of Preventive Medicine
    Edward E. Partridge, M.D., Endowed Chair for Cancer Disparity Research
    Director, UAB Minority Health and Health Equity Research Center
    University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)
  • Jon Freeman, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Psychology and Neural Science
    New York University
  • Thomas M. Gill, M.D.
    Humana Foundation Professor of Geriatric Medicine
    Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology & Investigative Medicine
    Director, Yale Program on Aging/Pepper Center
    Yale University
  • Peter C. Hauser, Ph.D.
    Director, NTID Research Center on Culture and Language
    National Technical Institute for the Deaf (NTID)
    Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Calvin Lai, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences Washington University in St. Louis
  • Corey L. Moore, Rh.D.
    Director/Principal Investigator
    Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Research and Capacity Building for Minority Entities
    Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Advancing Employment Equity for Multiply Marginalized People with Disabilities
    Professor and Founding Chair, Department of Rehabilitation and Disability Studies
    Langston University
  • Robert M. Sellers, Ph.D.
    Vice Provost for Equity & Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer
    Charles D. Moody Collegiate Professor of Psychology
    University of Michigan
  • Roland J. Thorpe, Jr., Ph.D.
    Associate Vice Provost of Faculty Diversity
    Professor, Department of Health, Behavior, and Society
    Director, Program for Research on Men's Health
    Deputy Director, Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions
    Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions
    Director, Johns Hopkins Alzhemier’s Disease Resource Center for Minority Aging Research
    Johns Hopkins University and Bloomberg School of Public Health


  • Nicole Lang
    Social Science Analyst,
    Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity (COSWD) Office,
    Office of the Director
    National Institutes of Health


  • Marie A. Bernard, M.D.
    Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity,
    Office of the Director
    National Institutes of Health
  • Roberta Diaz Brinton, Ph.D.
    Director, Center for Innovation in Brain Science
    Professor, Departments of Pharmacology and Neurology
    College of Medicine, University of Arizona
  • Alexa B. Kimball, M.D., M.P.H.
    President and CEO, Harvard Medical
    Faculty Physicians at BIDMC


  • Ericka Boone, Ph.D.
    Director, Division of Biomedical Research Workforce,
    Office of Extramural Research
    National Institutes of Health
  • Noni Byrnes, Ph.D.
    Director, Center for Scientific Review
    National Institutes of Health
  • Alison Gammie, Ph.D.
    Director, Division of Training, Workforce Development and Diversity, National Institute of General Medical Sciences
    National Institutes of Health
  • Karen L. Parker, Ph.D., MSW
    Director, Sexual & Gender Minority Research Office, Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives
    National Institutes of Health
  • Jane M. Simoni, Ph.D.
    Associate Director for Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
    Director, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)
    National Institutes of Health

This page last reviewed on August 1, 2023