ACD Working Group on Diversity, Diversity Program Consortium (DPC) Subcommittee

Mission and Charge

The ACD Working Group on Diversity (WGD), Diversity Program Consortium (DPC) subcommittee was established in response to the June 2017 recommendations prepared by the ACD WGD and endorsed by the ACD. The DPC subcommittee is charged with supporting the ACD WGD to assist, in turn, the ACD with its advice to the NIH Director on the DPC's three integrated initiatives: Building Infrastructure Leading to Diversity – BUILD, National Research Mentoring Network – NRMN, and Coordination and Evaluation Center – CEC, which aim to enhance diversity in the biomedical research workforce through the development, implementation, assessment, and dissemination of innovative and effective approaches to (a) student outreach, engagement, training and mentoring, (b) faculty development, and (c) institutional research training infrastructure. The DPC subcommittee will focus its efforts on how to best sustain these programs and how to effectively disseminate the best practices.

For additional information, please contact:
Christa Reynolds
DPC Communications Editor
Division of Training, Workforce Development and Diversity, NIGMS
christa.reynolds@nih.gov
(301) 451-3850

Roster

  • David Asai, Ph.D.
    Senior Director, Science Education
    Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    asaid@hhmi.org
  • Roberto Frontera-Suau, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor, Department of Biology
    Elizabeth City State University in South
    rfrontera-suau@ecsu.edu
  • Larry Hedges, Ph.D.
    Department Chair and Board of Trustees
    Professor of Statistics
    Northwestern University
    l-hedges@northwestern.edu
  • John Matsui, Ph.D.
    Director, Biological Scholars Program
    Assistant Dean, Biological Sciences
    University of California, Berkeley
    matsui@berkeley.edu
  • Sandy Merino, Ph.D.
    Senior Scientist
    Novozymes, Inc.
    same@novozymes.com
  • Charisse Nartey, Ph.D.
    Research Scientist II
    UT Dallas, Department of Biological Sciences
    charisse.crenshaw@gmail.com
  • Olivier F. Noel, Ph.D.
    Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder
    DNAsimple
    M.D., Ph.D. Candidate
    Pennsylvania State University School of Medicine
    ofn100@psu.edu
  • Pablo R. Sacasa, Ph.D.
    Chair, Department of Chemistry, Physics and Earth Sciences
    Miami-Dade College
    PSacasa1@mdc.edu
  • Sederick C. Rice, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Biology
    University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
    rices@uapb.edu
  • Fatima Rivas, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor
    St. Jude’s Children's Research Hospital
    fatima.rivas@stjude.org
  • Ahna Skop, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    skop@wisc.edu
  • Jessie L. Smith, Ph.D.
    Professor and Director of ADVANCE
    Special Assistant to the Provost
    Department of Psychology
    Montana State University
    jsismith@montana.edu
  • Augusto Tentori, Ph.D.
    Postdoctoral Associate
    Massachusetts Institute
    atentori@mit.edu
  • Ruth Washington, Ph.D.
    Executive Director
    Kent State University
    rwashin6@kent.edu

CO-CHAIRS

  • Hannah Valantine, M.D.
    Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity
    National Institutes of Health
    hannah.valantine@nih.gov
  • Alison Gammie, Ph.D.
    Director, Training, Workforce Development and Diversity (TWD)
    National Institute of General Medical Sciences, NIH
    alison.gammie@nih.gov

This page last reviewed on January 15, 2018