ACD Working Group on Diversity, Diversity Program Consortium (DPC) Subgroup

Mission and Charge

The ACD Working Group on Diversity (WGD), Diversity Program Consortium (DPC) subgroup was established in response to the June 2017 recommendations prepared by the ACD WGD and endorsed by the ACD. The DPC subgroup is charged with supporting the ACD WGD to assist, in turn, the ACD with its advice to the NIH Director on the DPC's integrated initiatives: Building Infrastructure Leading to Diversity – BUILD, National Research Mentoring Network – NRMN, the and Coordination and Evaluation Center – CEC, the Sponsored Programs Administration Development Program – SPAD, and the DPC Dissemination and Translation Awards – DPC DaTA. As a whole, these initiatives aim to enhance diversity in the biomedical research workforce through the development, implementation, assessment, and dissemination of innovative and effective approaches to (a) student outreach, engagement, training and mentoring, (b) faculty development, and (c) institutional research training infrastructure. The DPC subgroup focuses its efforts on how to best sustain these programs and how to effectively disseminate the best practices.

For additional information, please contact:
Christa Reynolds
DPC Communications Editor
Division of Training, Workforce Development and Diversity, NIGMS
(301) 451-3850


  • Ross C. Brownson, Ph.D.
    Lipstein Distinguished Professor of Public Health
    Director, Prevention Research Center
    Washington University in St. Louis
  • Erin A. Cech, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor
    Department of Sociology
    Department of Mechanical Engineering (by courtesy)
    University of Michigan
  • Kathy M DeerInWater, Ph.D.
    Chief Program Officer
    The American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES)
  • Tyrone Forman, Ph.D.
    Professor of Black Studies & Sociology
    University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Eric Grodsky, Ph.D.
    Department Chair and Professor of Sociology
    University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Julie J. Park, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor, College of Education
    University of Maryland, College Park
  • Lori Anderson Snyder, Ph.D.
    Professor of Psychology
    University of Oklahoma
  • Kim Weeden, Ph.D.
    Jan Rock Zubrow ’77 Professor of Sociology
    Director, Center for the Study of Inequality
    Cornell University

View Roster of Cohort One Members


  • Marie A. Bernard, M.D.
    Acting Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity, Office of the Director
    Deputy Director, National Institute on Aging
    National Institutes of Health
  • Alison Gammie, Ph.D.
    Director, Training, Workforce Development and Diversity (TWD)
    National Institute of General Medical Sciences, NIH

This page last reviewed on September 27, 2022