ACD Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Working Group

Mission and Charge

The BRAIN Working Group of the ACD is charged with the following:

  • Review recent advances in neuroscience;
  • Articulate the short-, mid-, and long-term scientific goals for achieving the vision of the NIH BRAIN Initiative; and
  • Develop a scientific plan for achieving these goals. This plan should include:
    • Areas of research that should be considered "high priority". Recommendations should include, but are not limited to: research that is currently supported but warrants additional focus; development of new technologies; research on a range of model systems, from simple to complex, with an appropriate balance; and/or entirely new directions for research that will be necessary to achieve these ambitious goals;
  • Principles for achieving the scientific goals, and structures appropriate for them, including the balance of individual groups and larger consortia, the relative roles of technology development and problem-driven experiments, and the relationship with other areas of neuroscience;
  • Areas in which collaboration with others (i.e., foundations, industry, other agencies) would result in either complementary activities or the leveraging of efforts; and
  • Specific recommendations for timelines, milestones, and cost estimates for short-, mid-, and long-term objectives, in order to provide explicit opportunities for evaluating success or failure going forward.

Working Group Reports


  • Cornelia Bargmann, PhD (co-chair)
    The Rockefeller University
  • Bill Newsome, PhD (co-chair)
    Stanford University
  • David Anderson, PhD
    California Institute of Technology
  • Emery Brown, MD, PhD
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Karl Deisseroth, MD, PhD
    Stanford University
  • John Donoghue, PhD
    Brown University
  • Peter MacLeish, PhD
    Morehouse School of Medicine
  • Eve Marder, PhD
    Brandeis University
  • Richard Normann, PhD
    University of Utah
  • Joshua Sanes, PhD
    Harvard University
  • Mark Schnitzer, PhD
    Stanford University
  • Terry Sejnowski, PhD
    Salk Institute for Biological Studies
  • David Tank, PhD
    Princeton University
  • Roger Tsien, PhD
    University of California, San Diego
  • Kamil Ugurbil, PhD
    University of Minnesota


  • Kathy Hudson, PhD
    National Institutes of Health
  • Geoffrey Ling, MD, PhD
    Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
  • John Wingfield, PhD
    National Science Foundation

This page last reviewed on February 12, 2011