March 1–2, 2004 Meeting Agenda

NIH Blue Ribbon Panel on Conflict of Interest Policies

Building 31C, Conference Room 10
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland

Day 1 — Monday, March 1, 2004
  8:30 a.m. Welcome and Introductions Bruce Alberts, Ph.D. and
Norman R. Augustine
  9:00 a.m. Charge to the Panel Elias A. Zerhouni, M.D.
  9:30 a.m. Conflict of Interest/Confidentiality Certification for Panel Members LaVerne Stringfield
  9:45 a.m. Plan for Day 1 Norman R. Augustine
  10:00 a.m. Federal Policies Governing Conflict of Interest (COI) Stuart D. Rick, J.D.
  10:45 a.m. Break  
  11:00 a.m. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Policies Governing COI Edgar M. Swindell, J.D.
  12:30 p.m. Lunch break  
  1:30 p.m. History of the COI Issue at the NIH Raynard S. Kington, M.D., Ph.D.
  2:30 p.m. Current NIH Policies and Procedures Holli Beckerman Jaffe, J.D.
  3:30 p.m. Break  
  3:45 p.m. Medical School COI policies/Overview of AAMC COI Guidelines Jordan J. Cohen, M.D.
  4:45 p.m. Public Testimony  
  6:00 p.m. Adjourn  

Day 2 — Tuesday, March 2, 2004
  8:30 a.m. Plan for Day 2 Bruce Alberts, Ph.D.
  8:45 a.m. Technology Transfer Activities and Current Management of Potential Conflicts Barbara McGarey, J.D.
  9:30 a.m. NIH Personnel Appointment Authorities Robert Hosenfeld
  10:00 a.m. Break  
  10:15 a.m. Executive Session  
  2:00 p.m. Adjourn  

Bruce Alberts, Ph.D.
National Academy of Sciences
Elias A. Zerhouni, M.D.
Director, NIH
Norman R. Augustine
Chairman, Executive Committee
Lockheed Martin Corporation
Jordan J. Cohen, M.D.
Association of American Medical Colleges
Robert Hosenfeld
Director, NIH Office of Human Resources
Holli Beckerman Jaffe, J.D.
NIH Ethics Officer and OD Ethics Coordinator
NIH Ethics Office, Office of the Director, NIH
Raynard Kington, M.D., Ph.D.
Deputy Director, NIH
Barbara McGarey, J.D.
NIH Legal Advisor
NIH Branch, Public Health Division
Office of the General Counsel, HHS
Stuart D. Rick, J.D.
Deputy General Counsel
Office of General Counsel & Legal Policy
Office of Government Ethics
LaVerne Stringfield
Director, Office of Federal Advisory Committee Policy
Office of the Director, NIH
Edgar M. Swindell, J.D.
Associate General Counsel and Designated Agency Ethics Official
Office of the General Counsel, HHS
updated 2/25/2004

This page last reviewed on February 12, 2011