108th Meeting of the Advisory Committee to the Director (ACD) National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Building 31, C Wing, 6th Floor, Conference Room 6, NIH Campus, Bethesda, Maryland

Agenda

muisday, June 5, 2014		
9:00 am	OPEN SESSION: Welcome and NIH Director's Report ▶ Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD, Director, NIH	
10:00 am	Discussion	
10:30 am	BREAK	
10:45 am	 ACD BRAIN Working Group Report Cori Bargmann, PhD, The Rockefeller University, and BRAIN WG co-chair Bill Newsome, PhD, Stanford University, and BRAIN WG co-chair 	
11:45 am	Discussion	
12:15 pm	GROUP PHOTO and LUNCH	
1:30 pm	 ACD Working Group Updates Workforce Diversity Update (Hannah Valantine, MD, and Reed Tuckson, MD, cochairs) Presented by Hannah Valantine, MD, Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity, NIH Peer Review update (Richard Nakamura, PhD, Joan Y. Reede, MD, MPH, MS, MBA, and Dana Y. Takagi, PhD, co-chairs) Presented by Richard Nakamura, PhD, Director, Center for Scientific Review, NIH 	
2:00 pm	Discussion	
2:15 pm	 ACD HeLa Working Group Update Renee R. Jenkins, MD, Howard University, and HeLa WG Chair Kathy L. Hudson, PhD, Deputy Director for Science, Outreach, and Policy, NIH 	
3:00 pm	Discussion	
3:15 pm	BREAK	
3:30 pm	NIH Data Science ▶ Philip E. Bourne, PhD, Associate Director for Data Science, NIH	
4:00 pm	Discussion	
4:30 pm	CLOSED SESSION This portion of the meeting will be closed to the public in accordance with the provisions set forth in the Government in the Sunshine Act, section 552b (c) (4) and 552b (c) (6), Title 5 USC.	
5:30 pm	ADJOURN	

Friday, June 6, 2014

9:00 am	OPEN SESSION: Opening Remarks Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD, Director, NIH Review of Outside Awards for ACD Approval Lawrence A. Tabak, DDS, PhD, Principal Deputy Director, NIH
9:15 am	 NIH AIDS Research Priorities Jack Whitescarver, MD, Director, Office of AIDS Research, NIH Rochelle Walensky, MD, Chair, Office of AIDS Research Advisory Council
10:15 am	Discussion
10:45 am	BREAK
11:00 am	 ACD Physician-Scientist Workforce Working Group Report (David Ginsburg, MD, Sherry Mills, MD, MPH, and Susan Shurin, MD, co-chairs) Presented by David Ginsburg, MD, University of Michigan
11:30 am	Discussion
Noon	Review of the NIH Intramural Research Program Michael M. Gottesman, MD, Deputy Director for Intramural Research, NIH
12:45 pm	Discussion
1:00 pm	CLOSING and ADJOURN