Skip Over Navigation Links

Advisory Committee to the Director

Working Group on Diversity in the Biomedical Research Workforce


  • Reed Tuckson, M.D., Executive Vice President and Chief of Medical Affairs, UnitedHealth Group, co-chair
  • John Ruffin, Ph.D., Director, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities, co-chair
  • Lawrence Tabak, D.D.S., Ph.D., Principal Deputy Director National Institutes of Health, co-chair
  • Ann Bonham, Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer, Association of American Medical Colleges
  • Jordan Cohen, M.D., President Emeritus, Association of American Medical Colleges
  • José Florez, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Gary Gibbons, M.D., Director, Cardiovascular Research Institute and Chair, Department of Physiology, Morehouse School of Medicine
  • Renee Jenkins, M.D., Chair, Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, Howard University
  • Tuajuanda Jordan, Ph.D., Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Lewis and Clark College
  • Wayne Riley, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., President & Chief Executive Officer, Meharry Medical College; Chair, National Advisory Council on Minority Health & Health Disparities, National Institutes of Health; Chairman, Board of Directors, Association of Minority Health Professions Schools
  • Samuel Silverstein, M.D., John C. Dalton Professor of Physiology & Cellular Biophysics, and Professor of Medicine, Columbia University Medical Center
  • Dana Yasu Takagi, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Maria Teresa Velez, Ph.D., Associate Dean of the Graduate College, Professor in Psychology, University of Arizona
  • M. Roy Wilson, M.D., M.S., Chairman, Board of Trustees, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science
  • Keith Yamamoto, Ph.D., Executive Vice Dean, School of Medicine, Professor Departments of Cellular/Molecular Pharmacology and Biochemistry/Biophysics, University of California, San Francisco
  • Clyde Yancy, M.D., Magerstadt Professor and Chief, Division of Medicine-Cardiology, Northwestern Memorial Hospital and Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Diversity in the Biomedical Research Workforce

Mission and Charge


Request for Information (RFI): Input into the Deliberations of the Advisory Committee to the NIH Director Working Group on Diversity in the Biomedical Research Workforce

Agenda for Diversity Working Group Public Meeting on February 14, 2012 (PDF – 62KB)

This page last reviewed on February 12, 2011

Social Media Links